## MINUTES OF USS IWO JIMA ASSOCIATION'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING

## 16 October-16 November 2005

## **ON-LINE MEETING**

The meeting was called to order at 1750 by President Phil Hawkins with all members present. Prospective Board Members Lou LaCava and Steve Pulkowski were also present.

The reading of the 10 Sep 2004 Board of Directors meeting minutes was delayed until the next assembled meeting.

In that no reunion was held due to Hurricane Katrina's homeless victims occupying most the Baton Rouge's lodging during the scheduled reunion, a ballot was provided to the active membership with the following results (10% of 323 equal a quorum pursuant to Article IV, Section 2(b):

- Vote for Board of Director Lou LaCava 83 yea votes; replacing George Agrecy
- Vote for Board of Director Steve Pulkowski 74 yea votes; replacing Bob Francis
- Eighty-five yea votes on the 2006 Budget as follows:

Copying/Printing	\$2,250	<b>Estimated Income</b>	\$7,675
Telephone Services	900		
Awards	500		
Banking Fees	275		
Admin	600		
Postage	2,430		
	\$6,955		

- Vote on Art II Revision (adding membership eligibility to IWO JIMA Class ships) 81 yea votes; 5 nay votes.\*
- Vote on Art III Section 1 Revision (supports Art II revision) 85 yea votes; 2 nay votes.\*
- Vote on Art III Section 5 Revision (entitles Battle of Iwo Survivors immediate Associate Membership) 85 yea votes; 1 nay vote.\*
  - \* See attachment

The Board considered and the President approved the appointment of Steve Pulkowski as the Association Treasurer to take effect following an audit of the Treasurer not later than December 1, 2005. The President appointed Steve and Lara Pulkowski to the Auditing Committee on Oct 22, 2005.

Following his nomination, the Board of Directors elected Phil Hawkins for his third term as the Association's President.

Mark Harris was elected by the Board to replace George Agrecy as Vice President.

Unfinished Business: None

## New Business:

The striking of a memorabilia coin commemorating the 45<sup>th</sup> anniversary of Iwo's commissioning was shelved until the ship's 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary.

The Associate Memberships for James A. Randolph USMC (Ret) 50-71; Ron Resh, and Steven Sylvfestri were approved.

The Honorary Membership for Captain Anthony G. Ziagos, Sr., R.H.R.N. on the basis of his many contributions of Association advertising space in the *Merrimack Journal* (Dracut, MA) valued at approximately \$270 each was approved.

The Board approved a recommendation that the Association membership be solicited for recommendations for future reunion sites beginning in 2010. The Board will consider all recommendations and select three sites that meet the Association requirements and present them at the next general membership business meeting. Following the vote, we will have a primary site with two back-up sites.

The Board approved pursuing an Association credit card for use by the Reunion Coordinator to be used for reunion business, authorizing the Association/Corporation to borrow necessary funds in support of the Association in order to take advantage of prompt payment discounts, etc. Each use requires Association Treasurer approval.

The recommendation to establish a spouses' Auxiliary was tabled until the next Board of Directors Meeting.

The Board agreed that the other IWO JIMA LPH class ship representatives will remain non-voting members of the Board until such time as their membership supports a vote.

The Board approved the following reunion sites, Jacksonville, FL 2006; Chicago, IL area in 2007; Norfolk, VA in 2008 and St. Louis in 2009.

President/Chairman Phil Hawkins adjourned the Board of Directors/Corporation meeting approximately 16 November 2005.

Bob Sorensen Secretary